Though the Class originated in 1938 and grew quickly, it was not until 1949 that a championship was

held, due mainly to the intervention of the war years. The venue was Upnor, and the handsome

Medway Bowl presented then is still a coveted trophy.

In 1952 a Northern Division championship was added, in part because of the then difficulty in

transporting boats. Held at Beaumaris that year, the winner was presented with the ‘Cock o’the


The fleets subsequently came together and in 1965, a new cup, the Cork Harbour Trophy went to the

overall winner and the ‘Cock’ and the Medway Bowl were retained for winners of the first and

second halves of the championship week.

Over the years, the championship, now known variously as ‘British & Irish’ or the ‘Cock’, has been

held in many venues, but more recently there has been a four year cycle consisting of Ireland (Cork

Harbour), Scotland (Findhorn), Isle of Man (Port StMary) and England (St Mawes, Portland, Hayling).

Link to the 2015 Cork Harbour Championship

2014 Abersoch

2013 Hayling Island

2012 Findhorn